Saturday, May 30, 2020

All day
 
 
Before 1am
1am
2am
3am
4am
5am
6am
7am
8am
9am
10am
11am
12pm
1pm
2pm
3pm
4pm
5pm
6pm
7pm
8pm
9pm
10pm
11pm
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
05/30/2020 - 12:00pm to 2:00pm
Jennifer Longo signs her latest YA fiction What I Carry at A Book For All Seasons. “The power of relationship—both those experienced and those denied—is expertly explored throughout this novel with nuance and humanity.” - Kirkus (Starred) “Soon-to-be 18-year-old Muiriel (Muir) has been in Seattle’s foster care system since infancy. Moving to her final foster house before aging out, she knows exactly what to do: keep her head down, don’t get attached, and pack only what she can carry. When Muir’s new housing situation starts to feel like a real home, she must figure out if some things she carries are okay to let go. This novel begins as the story of a teen girl in the foster care system that blossoms into a book full of diverse stories on tough topics. Muir’s experience in lifelong foster care has led to attachment issues, but other characters have their own baggage to share. Her best friend, Kira (who is of Japanese descent), is bullied in school and is healing from her family’s history of being prisoners in internment camps. Zola, Muir’s former foster sister, is moved back and forth from foster homes to her family and faces prejudice as a black child in foster care, which is highlighted alongside Muir’s experience as white child. An author’s note provides more resources on the foster system and how the author’s experience inspired this story. Well-researched and thoughtful, this novel packs a lot into its emotional yet humorous story. Add to collections for fans of Emery Lord and Sara Zarr.” Anna Taylor, Darien Library, CT Jennifer Longo holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Acting from San Francisco State University and a Master of Fine Arts degree in Writing For Theatre from Humboldt State University. She is the author of Six Feet Over It and Up To This Pointe, both recognized for exceptional writing and nominated for recognition and awards.