Sons of Darkness (Hardcover)

Sons of Darkness By Gourav Mohanty Cover Image
$30.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


The House of the Dragon meets Succession in an epic reimagining of the Mahabharata

"Like Game of Thrones in an Indian alternative universe... exhilarating... heralds the arrival of a special new talent"--Dan Jones

Some ballads are inked in blood...

Bled dry by violent confrontations with the Magadhan Empire, the Mathuran Republic simmers on the brink of oblivion. Senator Krishna and his third wife Satyabhama have put their plans in motion, both within and beyond the Republic's blood-soaked borders, to protect it from total annihilation.

But they are soon to discover that neither gold nor alliances last forever – and that they are not the only players on the board.

Mati, Pirate-Princess of Kalinga, has decided to mend her ways and become a good wife. But old habits die hard, especially when one habitually uses murder to settle old scores.

Brooding and beautiful Karna hopes to bury his brutal past, but finds that destiny is a miser when it comes to granting second chances.

Hero-turned-torturer Shakuni limps through a path of daggers. Meanwhile, his foes and woes multiply, leaving little time for vengeance.

Their lives are about to become yet more difficult, as a cast of sinister queens, naive kings, pious assassins and ravenous priests are converging where the Son of Darkness is prophesied to rise... even as forgotten Gods prepare to play their hand.

About the Author


Gourav Mohanty was born, and currently lives, in Bhubaneswar, the City of Temples. A connoisseur of mythologies and momos, he's been certified as a nerd ever since he graduated as a gold medallist from law school. He keeps things interesting by daylighting as a lawyer, moonlighting as a stand-up comic and gaslighting as a storyteller. Sons of Darkness is his first novel.

Praise For…


“Through humour, torture, gore, lust, magic, dangerous power games and bloodcurdling battles, Sons of Darkness takes us on an unforgettable wild journey set in re-imagined Vedic India.” —SF BOOK REVIEW

“Remarkable characterization and vivid worldbuilding bolster this riveting epic fantasy.” —Kirkus Reviews

“The sprawling scope of the epics with all the brutal and bleak nature of your favorite grimdarks. Complex geopolitical drama, strife, and military battles to rival the greats of the genre and will have you sitting by the seat of your pants. You're going to want to read this dark South Asian fantasy infused to the brim with Mahabharata and Malazan's DNA.” —R.R. Virdi

“In vivid prose, Mohanty combines ghastly tortures, sly political machinations, throbbing romance, and eerie religious and social rites into a demanding but rewarding epic and sets the stage for even more gasps in a coming sequel. This is an impressive feat” —Publishers Weekly

Sons of Darkness is outstanding. Brutal, lyrical and imaginative, it is an inspired mix of mythology and grimdark fantasy that I just couldn't put down.” —Shauna Lawless

“An incredible debut that showcases the darkness of human hearts but also the heroic nature that resides within... easily one of the best epic fantasy debuts of the last decade & more” —Fantasy Book Critic

“Like Game of Thrones in an Indian alternative universe, Sons Of Darkness is an exhilarating, imaginative, genre-busting mash-up of high fantasy, timeless myth and ancient history, which heralds the arrival of a special new talent and a gripping new series in historical fantasy.” —Dan Jones

“The author's vision, and the world he has created is breathtaking and fascinating. The Indian Fantasy Fiction genre finally comes of age with this book.” —Anand Neelakantan, bestselling author of Asura and The Bahubali Series

“A stunning debut. Gourav Mohanty is the new voice of dark fantasy” —Michael R. Fletcher

“With bold and gut-wrenching twists, Gourav Mohanty fuses passion for gritty modern fantasy with the greatest epic ever told, delivering a fresh and page-turning spin on the Mahabharata. This is a series to watch!” —Philip Chase

Mahabharata imbued with A Song of Ice and Fire, The First Law, & Malazan Book of the Fallen, Sons of Darkness is the best fantasy debut of 2022. The unbreached bastion for grimdark fantasy literature in India has been breached with Mohanty as the lead, and nothing can stop the novel from encompassing the entire world now.” —Novel Notions

Sons of Darkness contains all the trappings of a high adventure. The saga is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones” —Midwest Book Review

“A wild, intriguing work of fantasy that will keep you glued from the beginning till the end.” —Online Book Club

Sons of Darkness smashes open the fountain of originality, spilling insidious plot, incredible characters, and grim violence. I loved this book.” —Fanfi Addict

“Vast and sweeping in scale, even while it is attentive to the minutia of its characters motivations and inner lives, Sons of Darkness is a fresh new, grimdark fantasy built on old bones and perfect for those who love their stories epic and their worlds unique!” —Reedsy

“Nothing says summer like reading about a bunch of morally dubious people literally stabbing each other in the back!” —Winter is Coming

“House of Dragons meets Succession” —The Debut Digest

“A totally brilliant novel by a new force in historical fantasy… a saga of magic, deadly politics, war and outrageous ambition, superbly written. This is historical fantasy at its very best” —Historical Novel Review

Product Details
ISBN: 9781035900237
ISBN-10: 1035900238
Publisher: Head of Zeus -- an AdAstra Book
Publication Date: January 9th, 2024
Pages: 672
Language: English